Hello, my name is Alice and I am the new Young Person's Champion for Somerset’s SEND Local Offer.  

I will be making sure that the development of the Local Offer includes young people’s views so that it becomes more accessible to young people as the place for information, advice and guidance.  

What are you looking forward to with doing this job? 

 I am looking forward to meeting new people from different organisations and finding out what they do. Helping promote the Local Offer and working alongside Gaby who you’ll read about in the next edition of SEND News. 

What disabilities do you have? 

 I have KBG Syndrome which is a single gene disorder which is extremely rare. This is where I get my visual impairment and hearing loss. 

 I have a visual impairment called Nystagmus. Which means my peripheral vision and depth perception are not very good. I also struggle with bright lights. As a result of this I am registered partially sighted. I wear glasses because I am short sighted which does not cure the Nystagmus.  

I have hearing loss in both ears and wear two hearing aids. I will often mishear someone and cannot identify which direction a noise is coming from. 

 I have anxiety and sensory issues. I also have mild dyslexia. 

Having these disabilities has not stopped me from completing my Bronze Duke of Edinburgh (DofE). 

 What did you do last year? 

 Last year I did a Level 1 in Health and Social Care and Early Years at Bridgwater and Taunton College which I passed. I had to retake my Maths and English GCSEs. Sadly, I did not pass when I got my results in August. I am going to retake them again next summer.  

What hobbies do you have? 

 I go to Seido Karate Southwest, and I am a green belt. I go to Conquest Equation Centre to horse ride. 

 I like to read.  

I like going on long walks with my family and soon with our new puppy. 

 I like gardening with my dad and watching movies with my brother. 

 Something interesting about me?  

Every year in the summer since I was born, we have been going on a family holiday around the UK and Europe.  

Fun facts about Alice: 

  • How old are you? 

 I am 17 years old.  

  • What is your favourite colour?  

I have more than one favourite colour and they are: purple and blue. 

  • My favourite book?  

My favourite book is a series called Harry Potter which I recently read.  

  • My favourite film?  

My favourite film is any Disney, Marvel or Star Wars movies. 

 My closest friends have SEND needs too. 

Alice recieving her Duke of Edinburgh award

Alice standing with wellington boots on in front of big sunflowers

Alice recieving her Duke of Edinburgh award

General information

September 16, 2022

Is this information correct?

If information on this record is incorrect or outdated please let us know